Educators presented with ‘Opie’ awards

Courtesy photo

Twenty-two people were honored at the Twelfth Annual Outstanding Persons in Education Banquet (OPIE) held at the Terrace Bay Inn in mid-May. This banquet honors the area’s outstanding teachers and support professionals in the local school districts. The event is co-sponsored by the Michigan Education Association 17-B/C Coordinating Councils and local Associations. The winners, nominated and selected by their peers, are as follows: from left front, Mary Smith of Escanaba (ESP), Gary Chapman of Breitung Township (ESP), Michelle Maas of Menominee (EA), and Christa Getzloff of Bark River Harris (ESP); middle row, Rebecca Racine of Delta Schoolcraft ISD (EA), Patricia Kivioja of Mid Peninsula (EA), Donna Starzynski (EA) and Sally Beaudoin (ESP) of Stephenson, Jacqueline Leiker of Breitung Township (EA), Ed Williams of Iron Mountain (EA), Scott Johnson of Bark River Harris (EA), and Donna Hayes of Dickinson Iron ISD (EA); back row, Joy McKnight of Rapid River (EA), Amy Anderson of Gwinn (EA), Victoria Frederiksen of North Central (EA), Mary Anderson of Rapid River (ESP), Wendy Damer (ESP) and Angela LaLonde (EA) of Big Bay de Noc, and Amy Videtich (ESP) and Janis Wright (EA) of Manistique EA. Not present for photo were Lynn Soderberg of Escanaba (EA) and Elise Neuens of Dickinson Iron ISD (ESSP II).