Arnold selected for memorial award

ESCANABA – Tyler Arnold of Escanaba has been selected for a 2013 Marilyn Schwartz Memorial Fund Award to honor David Caracci Scholarship in the amount of $1,000.

Tyler Arnold plans to attend University of Northwestern Ohio in Lima, Ohio, to study automotive/diesel technician.

“Tyler Arnold was selected from more than 500 applicants at a recent meeting of the scholarship selection committee. The Global Automotive Aftermarket Symposium, Inc., the University of the Aftermarket Foundation, and other donors and organizations have awarded more than 160 scholarships in 2013 and more than 1,700 since the beginning of the program in 1996. It is a privilege to support this program training people for careers in the automotive aftermarket,” Peter Kornafel, Chairman, Scholarship Selection Committee.

The annual two-day Global Automotive Aftermarket Symposium brings together industry leaders and experts to examine the issues and trends affecting the automotive aftermarket and influencing its future. For more information, visit

Students named to GVSU Dean’s List

ALLENDALE – Grand Valley State University announces the names of students who were placed on the dean’s list for the Winter 2013 semester concluding in April. The list includes those students who have maintained a 3.5 grade point average and been enrolled in a minimum of 12 credits. The honor is noted on the students’ official records.

Students honored for the winter semester include:

Bark River – Bradley D. Ives, Karrie M. Meyers, and Kevin C. Noel.

Curtis – Abigail P. Hayes.

Escanaba – Kelsey L. Bosilovatz, Nicole R. Chouinard, Erin E. Gregoire, Lauren A. Howell, Amber L. Pascoe, and Kellen T. Young.

Gladstone – Hilary M. Austin, Jenna J. Bernson, Joseph D. Boch, Jammie M. Botruff, Sydney R. Cooper, Lindsey A. Lusardi, Nicholas J. Olesak, Abigail L. Riggio, Alissa M. Riggio, and Whitney R. Wells.

Gwinn – Kristina M. Thompson.

Two awarded degrees from UW-Stevens Point

STEVENS POINT – Two local residents are among the 1,165 students at the University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point to be awarded degrees during the university’s 2013 spring commencement ceremonies. Receiving degrees were:

Escanaba – Kathryn L Hood, bachelor’s degree in biochemistry (cum laude).

Gladstone – Leah R Lindahl, master’s degree in communicative disorders-speech and language pathology, MSCDP – Master of Science in Communicative Disorders-Speech and Language Pathology.

Carlson named to UW-Madison dean’s list

MADISON – Sonya Carlson of Gladstone has been named to the University of Wisconsin-Madison Dean’s List for the spring semester of the 2012-2013 academic year.

To be eligible for the Dean’s List, students must complete a minimum of 12 graded degree credits in that semester. Each university school or college sets its own GPA requirements for students to be eligible to receive the distinction.

Carlson is enrolled in the College of Agricultural and Life Sciences.