City honors Esky150 organizers, volunteers

ESCANABA – The many organizers, volunteers, and City of Escanaba employees who worked to make the Esky150 sesquicentennial event a success were recognized during a special city council meeting Friday.

The meeting recognized the contributions of Esky150 steering committee chair Pat Baribeau and event co-chairs Kay Johnson and Lori Hertig, who were presented with meritorious service awards for their work.

Commendation awards were also presented to several additional event volunteers, members of steering committees, and city employees that went “above and beyond,” according to Escanaba City Manager Jim O’Toole.

“Without the hard work and effort from the community and the people that volunteered and worked in bringing the Esky 150 celebration to the people, the event could not have been as successful as it was,” said O’Toole. “The commitment of the volunteers and the hard work of the steering committee and facilitators showed a true love for the city of Escanaba and the community, and it showed with the celebration that was presented.”

Escanaba Mayor Leo Evans said the sesquicentennial was the largest event the city has had since the city’s 1963 centennial.

“It was well received by the public. A lot of people were in town and there were so many different events,” said Evans. “We had a lot of good comments from people visiting. It just gives us the quality of life we love and the reason we love living in Escanaba.”

A total of 160 children and adult volunteers were on record filling 290 slots throughout the various Esky150 events, according to preliminary numbers.

An estimated 4,000 people attended the water shows during the event, while approximately 2,700 hot dogs were given away during a community picnic and more than 500 entrants participated in running events.

More than 200 kids participated in a children’s parade, and a pet parade had more than 50 pets. Close to 200 entrants, including floats, bands, walkers, and vehicles participated in the sesquicentennial parade down Ludington Street.

Holy Name High School reunion included about 700 participants while Escanaba’s All School Reunion brought in an estimated 1,000 people.

Organizers are looking at the possibility of holding future community celebrations on a smaller scale on an annual basis.

People receiving awards were:

Certificate of Meritorious Service:

Patricia Baribeau, Lori Hertig, Kay Johnson.

Certificate of Appreciation:

Nick Biede, Dennis Collins, Delta County Correction Crew, Rylee Doucette, Rachel Duchaine, Tom Duchaine, Abby Fritz, Amy Giese, Kelsey Motto, TJ Myrick, Jon Perrault, Frank Richer, Dennis Slaga, The Island Resort and Casino, Jordyn VanPortfliet, Jake Walker, Joey Walker, Isabelle Wellman.

Certificate of Commendation:

Julie Ahlin, Cheryle Andzejewski, Jack Beck, Peggy Belanger, Cindy Bender, Barb Bennett, Ann Benson, John Besse, Pat Besse, Brian Black, Tom Boudreau, Billy Boyce, Betty Breclaw, Sally Bruce, Jodi Canney, Jane Conine, Amy Cseter, Paddy Fitch, Martin Fix, Mary Fleissner, Darren Guindon, Wendy Irish, James Jankowski, John McDonough, Terry Flower, Judy Fouts, Beth Ann Fudala, Dave Gafner, Judy Gereau, Larry Gravatt, Joe Kaplan, Elizabeth Keller, Rick Kenyon, Marilyn Kinsey, Bob Koski, Gary LaPlant, Ashley LaPorte, Mollie Larson, Rick Larson, Charles Lindquist, Rory Mattson, Todd Milkiewicz, Ray Miller, Debbie Millican, Valarie Norman, Kris Olson, Gus Olson, Ardith Paarni, Steve Pach, Tom Penegor, Karen Moore, Monte Morrison, Paula Morrison, Kathryn Morski, Dee Niquette, Barb Noblet, Kim Peterson, Corinne Powers, Public Works Department, Terry Reynolds, Dave Rivard, Lori Rose, Pat Rudden, David Schaaf, Helen Sherman, Rick Shervin, Tom Sprague, Peter Strom, Robert Viau, Donna Vietzke, Edie Warner, Pasqua Warstler, Glenn Vande Water, Christine Williams.