Candidates file their petitions

Area residents interested in placing their names on the Nov. 5 election ballot have filed petitions seeking seats on the Escanaba City Council and Gladstone City Commission, according to local clerks.

Five candidates are seeking election for three four-year terms on Escanaba City Council. Vacancies expiring are currently held by Pat Baribeau, Pete Baker and Mayor Leo Evans.

Baribeau and Evans are seeking re-election to council. The other three candidates are James Hellerman, Robert E. LaFave, and Marc D. Tall.

Tall is currently serving on council after being appointed to temporarily fill the vacancy created when Mayor Pro Tem Brady Nelson passed away on June 15.

Two years will be left on Nelson’s term at election time in November. One candidate, Ralph B. Blasier, has announced his candidacy for the partial term.

Nominating petitions were due by Tuesday, 12 weeks prior to the Nov. 5 election, explained Escanaba City Clerk Bob Richards.

In Gladstone, six candidates are seeking election for the city commission’s three four-year seats. Joseph L. Maki and Hugo Mattonen are seeking re-election to the commission. Also seeking a four-year term are Jay Bostwick, Jessica Ebner, Richard “Rick” Micheau and Steven Viau.

A single two-year term position is also on the ballot due to the resignation of Commissioner David Olsen last month. The four candidates seeking election to the seat are Jeff Diebolt, Dave Nemacheck, Stephen O’Driscoll, and Vicki Viau.