Local students on St. Norbert deans list

DE PERE, Wis. – Six Escanaba residents have been named to the fall semester 2013 dean’s list at St. Norbert College. A minimum 3.5 grade point average is required for academic eligibility.

The students are: Lauren Belanger, Ashley Desotell, Quinlan Hillesheim, Codi Jenshak, Lauren Kleiman, and Jaena Manson.

The only Norbertine college in the world, St. Norbert is a four-year, Catholic liberal arts college, devoted to the Norbertine traditions of community, prayer and service to others. Founded in 1898 by Abbot Bernard Pennings as a school to prepare men for the priesthood, St. Norbert College became coeducational in 1952. Today the residential campus serves approximately 2,200 undergraduate and graduate students, hailing from throughout the United States and more than 30 countries, and offers study abroad opportunities in 29 countries.

Cretens awarded Gogebic honors

IRONWOOD – Michael Cretens of Cornell has been named to the dean’s list at Gogebic Community College for the first semester, 2013-14. To be named to the list, students must achieve a 4.0 (all A’s) or Dean’s List Honors (3.5 to 3.9 grade point average out of a possible 4.0).