Elks honor Eagle Scouts with ceremony

ESCANABA – Escanaba Elks Lodge 354 honored eight Eagle Scouts with dinner and awards during a special ceremony held on March 9 at their Lodge. The Elks officers and members volunteered in the kitchen and dining room to help serve the meal.

Over 90 Scouts and Elk volunteers were in attendance. The Scouts are members of the Red Buck Sub-District of the Bay Lakes Council of the Boy Scouts of America.

The eight Eagle Scouts (out of the 10 possible) of this year’s Eagle Class were present for the dinner. Eagle Scouts in attendance were: Nathan Beleville and Ian Macfarlane, Troop 466; Kent Dubord, Troop 473; Ben Troutman, John McGraw, and Jared Radlicki, Troop 414; Derek Verbrigghe, Troop 408; and Parker Birr, Troop 400.

Elks Youth Activities Chairman, Art Rodgers from Escanaba 354 Lodge, presented each of the boys with an American flag, along with a certificate of recognition during their Eagle Scout Court of Honors that were held earlier this year.

Mark Rose, District Commissioner, spoke of the importance of Scouting and the recognition that an Eagle Scout epitomizes the very best ideals of the Boy Scouts and is among the best kind of citizens of the United States.

“These Boys worked very hard to achieve this award and honor. They are a credit to their families, their community and to their nation,” he stated.

The dinner meeting recognized and honored the many volunteers who provide the Scouting program to our area youth. The annual dinner meeting is a time to recognize Scouts earning the Boy Scouts highest rank of Eagle Scout. Another highlight of the dinner was the presentation of the Silver Beaver award, the highest award that a Boy Scout Council can present to an adult scouter. This award is made for noteworthy service of exceptional character to youth by registered adult scouters.

Red Buck Sub-District serves youth in Delta County, part of Schoolcraft County, and a part of Menominee County, all of this with only one paid professional Scouter.