RSVP volunteers honored for service

ESCANABA – The Retired and Senior Volunteer Program (RSVP) honored their members at a Spring Luncheon Celebration. The festivities were held at the Terrace Bay Inn.

Serving as master of ceremonies was Ron Romps. The Delta County Veterans Council presented the Colors and Mark Ryan led the group in the Pledge of Allegiance and in singing of the “National Anthem.”

Welcoming the group was Bill Dubord, Executive Director of the Menominee-Delta- Schoolcraft Community Action Agency & Human Resource Authority, Inc. The invocation was provided by Deacon Terry Saunders.

Greetings were brought on behalf of the following: Amy Berglund, Regional Representative for U.S. Senator Carl Levin; Jeremy Hosking, Regional Manager for U.S. Senator Debbie Stabenow; Olivia Sawicki, Special Assistant, US Congressman Dan Benishek, M.D; and Jim Caszatt, District Representative for State Senator Tom Casperson. Joe Russell, Manager, DNR Pocket Park, presented on the need for Volunteers.

The following Delta County Policy Advisory Council (P.A.C.) members were introduced: Gail Zierk, Dorothy McKnight and Bernice Wieciech. Those not present: Sally Guay, Geri Nelson, Lorri Merrell, Terry Peerless and Joyce Sheedlo.

RSVP P.A.C. Members awarded 50 Hour Pins were Linda Bottorff, Eleanor Dougherty, Gail Johnivan, Lucy Lampinen, Joan Mattson, and Bonnie Phalen. Those not present but also receiving pins were Mary Crawford, Dale Jamison, Wayne Lancour, Robin Mapes, Robert Nachtwey, Karen Paul, Michael Rogers, Freda St. John, William Smith, Albert Wickham and Gayle Yeshe.

Certificates of Appreciation awarded to the following RSVP Volunteers:

1,000+ Hours – Lorraine Johnson (1,672), Judy Lee LaCasse (1,266.5), Irene Chernick (1,194.5), and Elaine (Mary) Gareau (1,081.5).

600+ Hours – Mary Ann Chouinard (945), Helen Lehtikangas (859), Gladys Fullmer (754), James Gallagher (725), Mary Lu Gaudette (722.5), Dwaine Menard (715.5), Ruth Lippens (710), Mathias Gaudette (697.5), Irene St. Martin (690.5), Nancy Beck (655), Joanne Rose Johnson (616) and Carol Cole (614.5).

300+ Hours – Iola Feathers (586), Jean Beauchamp (583.5), Alice Butch (543.5), Terry Peerless (535), June Ahlin (523.5), Robert Caron (517), Joyce Destrampe (466), Bonnie Knitter (462), Linda Deksnis (455), Theresa Begovich (440), Betty Waeghe (429), Barbara Botwright (424), Henrietta “Hank” Miller (424), Evelyn Potvin (421), Gail Zierk 412, Cathy Menard 405, Joan Jacobs (400.5), Vicki Adkins (397.5), Gale St. Martin (395.5), Richard Hentz (386.5), Frances Goetz (384.5), Harold Olson (382);

Thomas Knitter (370.5), Violet Therrian (370), Jean Gruell (357), Susan Miles (352), Carol Lancour (339), Thomas Wilfong (338), Gladys Cousineau (335), Robert Begalle (329.5), Carole Gabrielson (326), Ronald Pilon (325.5), Ruth Chouinard (324.5), Marie Klein (307), Cecilia Chie (302.5), and Delores (Lorry) Flath (302.5).

This event was funded by the Corporation for National and Community Service, Office of Services to the Aging and United Way of Delta County.

The RSVP Program is sponsored by the MDS CAA & HRA, Inc., which is located at 507 First Avenue North in Escanaba. Director is Theresa Nelson and assistant is Cinde LaMarche.

For further information regarding the RSVP Program or to inquire about volunteer opportunities, call 786-7080.