UPIR continues its racing season

The Bays de Noc Convention and Visitors Bureau race season at UPIR is in full swing. Saturday’s event will showcase the Sport 4’s with a 25 lap feature, driver introductions and an increased payout for the feature racers. The Island Resort and Casino is the race night sponsor.

A popular division, 30 Sport 4 racers have taken to the track this season. The increased payout may well bring in some new cars adding to the action-packed class. Erik Marenger currently leads in points, with Elliot Reid of Faithorn, Justin Lauscher and Robbie Iverson following. Each are within reach of taking over the lead.

Also on tap are twin 20 modified features with the June 7 make-up feature scheduled. Dale Peterson currently holds the points lead, but others are not far behind with veteran racers John Ostermann of Niagara, Wis., Pat Richer, Chris Pepin, 2012 modified champion Matt Valiquette, Fran Berube and Lonnie Dalgord not out of taking over first place in points. Modified rookies Karl Lamoreaux of Niagara, Wis., Austin Cayer and Brad Lemberg have been dialing their mods in and will also be in contention.

The fierce competition in the 600 Micro-Sprint class is topped by Josh Bartel followed by Jered Cech of Rhinelander, Wis., Matt Peterson, Steven Miller, Todd Belanger, Jeff Ives and Gregg Brayak. With two rollovers last weekend and a few other disabling incidents, don’t rule out a big jump in points by Jim Groleau, Scott Ruleau, Jamie St. Jacques, Jay Baumler Jr., Stephenson, Joey Schmidt of Menominee and Bart Kostreva of Crivitz, Wis. If Christian Groleau has his blown engine replaced he will be powering his micro-sprint to make up for last week’s engine failure preventing him from transferring to the feature race. Denver Larsen of Shiocton, Wis. has moved up from the Junior Micro-Sprints and his experience will soon be a threat to the leaders.

500 Micro-Sprint racer Kristy Peterson is on top with Kyle Getchell in the second spot. Junior Micro-Sprint champion Jesse Liss holds third place with Gabriel Zellner of Green Bay in fourth. Justina Liss, Dave Hosking and Paul Hosking are tied for fifth. Rookies Stephanie Wolf and Rhianna Carne of Kingsford are gaining experience wheeling around the track. With four lady racers and veterans and rookies comprising the class, it will be an interesting season.

The Junior Micro-Sprints always put on a great show with Ty Springer of Eagle River, Wis., Logan Getzloff and Dylan Larsen of Shiocton, Wis. topping the points chart. Rookie Avry Corrigan and Joey Stankowicz are tied for fourth. Drake Degnan, rookie Haden Frazer, Tommie Springer of Eagle River, Wis., Tyler Getchell of Marinette and rookie Ethan Wennesheimer will put the pedal to the metal to push their micro-sprints up the points ladder.

Ron Jenshak took over the points lead in the Street Stock class with his feature win last Saturday. Rookie Rob Willis closely follows in second place with Matt Adams in third. Jeff Sullivan and Paul Wagner are tied for fifth position. The Street Stock class has grown this season and thrills the fans with their competitive racing.

The grandstand opens at 5 p.m. EDT with family friendly prices of $5 for admission. As always, 10 and under are free. Most food concession items are $2 and $2 beer night will also be offered. Go to www.upirtrack.com for schedule and more information.