NMU students awarded scholarships

MARQUETTE – Five students at Northern Michigan University have been awarded scholarships for the 2014-15 academic year. Those earning awards are as follows:

Samantha DeNeff of Trenary and Michele Owens of Escanaba are the recipients of the Ellen Juntunen Bryan Scholarship. To qualify for the scholarship, students must be pursuing an undergraduate degree in education with a grade point average of 3.0 or higher in both high school and at NMU. Applicants must also be a graduate of an Upper Peninsula high school.

The Ellen Juntunen Bryan Scholarship was established in 1983 by Ford R. Bryan with a match from the Ford Motor Company.

Owens is also the recipient of the W. Albert Hakala Endowed Scholarship. To qualify, students must be a sophomore, junior or senior pursuing a degree in education, with first preference given to those majoring in elementary education.

The W. Albert Hakala Endowed Scholarship was established by W. Albert Hakala, a 1943 graduate of John D. Pierce Training School, Northern College of Education, a 1949 graduate of Northern Michigan College of Education and retired professor from the elementary education department in the school of education at Central Michigan University.

Hunter Bradford of Escanaba is the recipient of the Skillin GAP Fund. Selection is based on full-time students in any major who fall within specific financial need parameters.

The Skillin GAP Fund was established in 2014 in memory of Gladys F. (Muck) and Lloyd Skillin. Lloyd W. Skillin created a living trust in honor of his wife, Gladys F. Muck, a Negaunee native and 1922 graduate of Northern State Normal. These Gap funds will assist students with educational expenses at Northern Michigan University. The Skillin GAP Fund scholarship will provide financial support to qualifying students with a focus on retention and loan reduction.

Kayla Shope of Rapid River is the recipient of the Dr. Jean M. Rutherford Scholarship. To qualify for the scholarship students must be pursuing a degree in psychology.

The Dr. Jean M. Rutherford Scholarship was established in 1980 in memory of Jean M. Rutherford.

Sara Harrington of Cooks and Raquel Johnson of Cornell are the recipients of the Jilbert Dairy Scholarship. Selection was based on Upper Peninsula students whose families are in the agriculture business.

The Jilbert Dairy Scholarship was established in 2001 by the President of Jilbert Dairy, John Jilbert. Jilbert Dairy is one of the largest dairies in Michigan’s Upper Peninsula.

Johnson is also the recipient of the Stan Whitman Memorial Scholarship. To be eligible for the scholarship students must be an athlete in basketball, football, swimming or hockey and are Upper Peninsula residents. Applicants must have a grade point average of 2.0 or higher and preference is given to applicants who are enrolled in the Walker L. Cisler College of Business, the school of education or the school of nursing.

The Stan Whitman Memorial Scholarship was established in March 1994 by the family and friends of Stan Whitman.