Delta County eligible for winter damage funds

ESCANABA – Delta County is one of six counties in the Upper Peninsula that will have access to $6 million in assistance following the “state of emergency” declaration Gov. Rick Snyder issued last winter to address the damage caused by extreme cold and frost.

The announcement was made Tuesday that nine counties in the Upper and Lower Peninsulas are eligible for the funds that will be distributed through Community Development Block Grants (CDBG).

The grants are to be used for the repair of damaged water and sewer mains, roads, and other vital infrastructure in Delta, Charlevoix, Cheboygan, Chippewa, Emmet, Gogebic, Luce, Mackinac, and Marquette counties.